The Word of The Year Is…

re·lent·less 
Pronunciation: \-ləs\
Function: adjective
Date: circa 1592
: showing or promising no abatement of severity, intensity, strength, or pace : unrelenting

I think “relentless” perfectly sums up everything I want to accomplish and how I plan to get there.

To face every challenge and every turning point in life head on and daring someone to tell me it can’t be done is how I plan to approach this year. I have some big decisions to make (finishing college in Asheville or somewhere else, for example) and they’re going to require some guts to see them through. I can’t stand the thought of missing out on any experience because I wasn’t courageous enough to take the chance.

So. What am I going to be so unrelenting about? Those pesky resolutions every “news” show will be talking about until next month. I think the idea is setting us all up to fail, but the fundamental point is a good one. A new year, a new you. Take those things you can’t stand about yourself and turn them around! Blah, blah, and blah. But I’m trying it, nonetheless. And in all reality, they’re not something I picked out for the New Year; they have been bugging me for a while, and there’s no time like NOW to get the ball rolling. 

For my first trick: drinking lots and lots of water!

I am SO BAD ABOUT THIS! I have moderately dry skin, I get headaches, my sleep habits suck during the school year, and on and on it goes. It’s amazing how much being dehydrated really affects my day to day life. 
For Christmas, I got a venti-sized, double-walled, clear plastic Starbucks cup with a red and white-striped straw. LOVE. I’ve actually been drinking a ton of water because of it, so that’s why I’m starting with water. I’m already doing it!

I am so in the habit of and addicted to drinking coffee that I’m going to need to drink twice what the average person needs, just to flush all that crap out of my system! Because, let me tell you, I have NO INTENTION of drinking less coffee. The world is a safer place for that decision. You’re welcome.

 
Leave a Reply

