I think I can, I think I can….I know I can?

Okay. SO. A couple days into the drinking more water resolution, and I think I’ve actually had less than when I started…. But in my defense, it is FREAKIN’ COLD outside. We’re talking a 6 degree windchill! I’m simply trying to conserve heat. It’s a survival mechanism! (That’s my story anyway. Maybe I’ll try drinking warm water…)

Today is also Day 1 of my lifestyle change. NOT a diet. Who actually benefits from diets? Anybody who starts one is likely to quit within two weeks and gain any weight they lost back, so why should should I put myself through that new level of discipline only to fail miserably and hate myself for it later?? NOT GONNA HAPPEN.

I knew I wanted to make changes that led to “Hey, you with the great butt!” kind of results, but I knew it wouldn’t happen if I didn’t make changes in my diet AND my activity level. So I’m working on a new menu that works for ME and allows ME to work around my schedule. (See a theme?) I’ve been hearing a lot of experts say that eating the same things every day reduces your chances of screwing up. I will probably eat various forms of oatmeal for breakfast, chicken and veggies for lunch, but I’m not really sure what to do for dinner. (Feel free to give me ideas…) I will post the final results here when I get through.

As for the activity part, I bought new running shoes just the other day. The thing is, as stated above, IT’S FREAKIN’ COLD. So running outside won’t do any good and I don’t own a treadmill. For the longest time, I scoffed at the notion of a gym. Why buy the cow (gym) when you can get the milk (outside) for free? But now that the windchill is cold enough to freeze your eyelashes together, I am definitely rethinking that one. There’s some pretty good gyms around here, and one in particular is offering some great rates, so I think I’m going to scurry down there this afternoon, find a treadmill, and walk/jog off the 6 million cookies, 4 lbs of chocolate, and 18 trillion calories I’ve gorged myself on throughout this past holiday season. (Yipe!)
Leave a Reply

