Chocolate wishes and pepperoni dreams.

Do you ever get that feeling that you’re forgetting something? Something IMPORTANT? It’s right on tip of your tongue, waiting to jump off, but it can’t because you can’t remember what it even is? 

Because I do. 

I finally realized what IT is: this blog.

I remembered that I had started writing a blog to chronicle my new lifestyle and blah, blah. It also occurred to me that I hadn’t actually updated it in weeks. A lot has changed!

First, remember that gym I was talking about? Well, I did a huge Gainer off the diving board into the deep end and joined. With an online nutrition plan. And personal training. I know. And it doesn’t hurt that my trainer is too cute for his own good and NICE.

It’s been going fairly well. There have been some logistical issues (having to get up off my butt to drive into town), as well as some lame issues (having to get up off my butt to drive into town). Despite those, I’m definitely exercising on a regular basis, on my own, without getting college credit or a lovely, reliable friend dragging me out of my house. This, in and of itself, is a huge turning point. Yay me! (Okay, so all I’m doing is hoofing it on a treadmill for an hour, but it’s better than living vicariously through active TV characters I see every week…. Right?)

I also made some major diet changes and for the most part, I’ve been sticking to them. I’m aiming to keep my calorie intake below 1800, but that is hard. Harder than sweating it out on a treadmill for an entire hour and having to lose your sea legs before you can walk like a sober person again. One sandwich with bread that’s anything but 100% whole wheat screws you over for the entire day, and you might as well eat carrot sticks until it’s time for bed. As someone who loves the 3 C’s of horrible nutrition (Carbs, cheese, and chocolate, for those of you not fortunate enough to have rapidly-shrinking arteries. Or Southern food, as I like to call it), I’ve officially changed species from homo sapien to rabbitus hungrio, thanks to all the raw veggies I’ve consumed. It’s escalated to the point where I’ve even had dreams about greasy pepperoni pizza. It was such a huge, delicious slice that I laid on top of it and at all around me like a cow in a pasture who is practically asleep but still eating everything it can reach. I’m desperate. So. Very. Desperate. (As I type this, I’m gnawing on carrot sticks. WHAT HAS IT ALL COME TO???)

So anyway, point is I’ve made more changes in the past few weeks than I have in, well, ever. And I’m really proud of myself. I will be even more proud when I can walk through the dairy section of the grocery store and not have to close my eyes just to make it to the lactose-free almond milk. Which is amazing, by the way.

Leave a Reply

