A bittersweet first half.

Aaaaaahhhhh.

(That’s me sighing, not screaming.) (Though that would make sense too.)

This past semester was SO HARD for me. Between school and work demands, I couldn’t handle it all. So my solution was to not handle much of it. I didn’t do certain assignments, I let some projects slide at work, and I totally hid from my life. I went from being on the dean’s list last fall to, well, let’s just say NOT being on the list this spring. (I didn’t completely fail out or anything, just for the record.) There were so many great ideas I wanted to implement this year at work that never metastasized or were even started. There was a lot of coffee consumed, a lot of tears shed, a million tension headaches, many hours of sleep lost, and finally, a lot of relief that the semester was finally over.
The spring also ended with my best friend having to move. To Colorado. From NC. BOO. This is the woman I watched give birth to her second child, who gave me advice for EVERYTHING, and who helped me transition from an old life to a new one. Her family became mine. She became one of those rare friends in life we’re convinced we were always meant to find, no matter how many different turns our lives took. We’d become friends somehow, no matter how old we were when it happened. As Anne of Green Gables put it, we are “kindred spirits.”

But, due to the noble desire to have a better life, my friend packed up their lives here and shipped out. Her husband is going back to school to become a physical therapist and eventually, she’ll go back too. We all have to do what’s best for us to get us to where we want to be, but that doesn’t mean the repercussions won’t sometimes flat out suck. We’ll see each other soon enough, though. Thanksgiving, hopefully.

So. Despite all the mess that has gone on in the past six months, there were some pretty awesome things that happened too. (Didn’t think you could handle any more downers, could you?)

First, I was accepted to Washington Adventist University in Maryland, and I couldn’t be more excited! I feel like it’s my opportunity to get out of this town and make some dreams a reality. And that has been a long time coming.

Secondly, and most importantly, I found a man worth being with. I have since latched on to said man, and refuse to let him go. 

We went to the same high school together and I actually had a crush on him then. We graduated (he was a year ahead of me) and went our separate ways, though I was always aware of him whenever he was in town. (He says the same thing about me.) We ran into each other one day at a bagel shop where he proceeded to get my number, but he never called. Ever. So maybe eight or ten months later, we run into each other at an alumni event at our school. He was snarky and completely not putting out happy-to-see-Laura vibes.

Fast forward to almost a year later, where we’ve lightly talked through Facebook. I tell him to come see me at church sometime. A couple weeks later, I lay out of church because I was sick. Of course, this is the weekend he shows up. I tell him he should have called me, but he says he no longer had my number. He gets it again, and a couple of weeks later, we meet up at church. And spend the day together with some mutual friends. That night, he asks me on a date, and the rest is, of course, history. 🙂

We’ve been dating for 2 months today (What is that? Like, paper?). It feels like we’ve been together a year already. The timing was never right for us before, as he had some family stuff going on (that’s why he never called) and I wasn’t ready for this until recently. Once the timing was right, however, God put us together and there’s no doubt in our minds that someday (when the time is right!) we’ll get married and spend our lives together. I believe the timing is perfect because as one mainstay person in my life is leaving, another came in. This has happened over and over in my life, and I love that God doesn’t want me to be alone.

Anyhoo. It’s been a crazy six months. I’m heading up to DC in August, despite everybody thinking I’ll stay for him. I wouldn’t compromise on my dreams and he would never ask me to. He’ll be back in school too, but I’ll elaborate more on him in a later post. 😉

I have to run get ready for a job interview. Wish me luck!



Much love,
Lo
Leave a Reply

