Nothing against Canon, but…

As I’ve grown older, I’ve realized there are several levels of wants in life: 1) If money were not an issue; 2) You can afford this if you save diligently; and  3) No worries. Unfortunately, most of what I desire falls under categories 1 and 2. Category one is easy to circumvent; when am ever going to have that much money at once? But two? Two is the beast of them all. It mocks my saving habits and taunts me with shiny buttons or sequins or sparkle. “If you only saved for a bit longer…”, category two says, making me think that $400 handbag is within my reach. (Can we say TUITION PAYMENT?) “See that $26 tube of mascara? Totally yours in a month.” It’s evil, that number 2.

So when I realize that I “need” something, I also realize that I’m going to have to pick a realistic category and hope for the best. And when I discovered my camera technology is sorely outdated and that it’s high-time for an update, this is the mental process I went through. I indulged myself and picked cameras in each of the three preceding categories and chose to list them here, just in case Nikon feels sorry for me. (Hey! You never know til you ask, right?) Here goes:

Category 1 Camera:

Behold, the Nikon D700 Digital SLR Camera.

Nikon D700 SLR Digital Camera with Nikkor 24-120mm VR Lens

This little beauty does it all… You can read all the specs here, but basically? It’s awesome. Awesome= 8 frames PER SECOND. I’ll take two. (I know I could find much more expensive cameras, but if I have NO IDEA how to use them, then what’s the point?)

Category 2 Camera:

The Nikon CoolPix S70 Digital Camera.

Nikon CoolPix S70 Digital Camera (Black)

Isn’t she cute? Much more manageable on a daily, tourist-y basis than the D700, as well as being less expensive. Easily fits into a pocket or small purse, yet still offers great technology. It’s got a touch screen on the back, 12.1 megapixels, and 5-X wide angle zoom. Not too shabby, eh? (No, I’m not Canadian.) (Not that being Canadian is a bad thing, I hear it’s quite great, actually.)

Category 3 Camera:

The Nikon L22 Digital Camera.

Nikon Coolpix L22 Digital Camera (Silver)

Kinda pretty, non? This is, in all reality, what I will most likely purchase for myself. I really like the options it offers for the price ($120), it uses regular AAA-batteries, and it still has 12 megapixels. I would enjoy having a touch-screen like on the camera above, but I think I’ll live without it. This camera also comes in black, red, and blue, and is still small enough to fit in pockets, purses, etc.

My current camera is a Nikon and was wonderful when I first bought it…around 5 years ago. It’s only 6 megapixels and the flash technology is severely lacking. As I continue finding great scenes to take pictures of and post on here (not to mention my envy of bloggers such as Dooce and The Pioneer Woman), I continually find my little point-and-shoot depressing. I really want to shoot more of the city, but it just takes too much effort to use my camera and my Blackberry can only do so much… (I love my phone, but I definitely lust after the iPhone’s photography apps.)

What cameras do you use? What brand do you prefer? I’m always open for suggestions!

Much love,

Lo

PS- I just happen to prefer Nikon, and they most definitely didn’t pay me to write about them. As PW says, they have no idea who I am. But I’m open to being bought.

2 responses to “Nothing against Canon, but…

  • Joy

    Have you seen the photographs Alyssa takes with her cheap little Kodak she’s had for about two years now? (At the time it was about $250, and that was the only Christmas present she received that year.) I’d love to be able to get her the “if money were not an issue” option, but, well, money usually is an issue, so that’s not going to happen. I’m sure whichever you choose, the photos will be fabulous.

    • acivilurbanity

      I have seen her pictures, and I feel so much better about not owning a digitial SLR! She’s fantastic! But my camera is seriously outdated, and regardless of what I buy, I know it’s going to be an improvement…

      Thanks for the faith in my photography!

      And for reading, of course. 😉

Leave a Reply

